Board of Trustees

From May 2022, the Board of Trustees comprises nine nominated Trustees and five ex-officio Trustees selected from the current Principals of the Scottish universities  (Prior to 2019, a transition occurs from the previous larger Board, which included all Principals of the Scottish universities.)

Trustees are elected or re-elected at the Annual General Meeting of Trustees. Trustees are appointed for three-year terms, and can be re-elected no more than twice (i.e. limiting maximum service to nine years).

Trustees are proposed by the Universities, existing Trustees and others knowledgeable in Higher Education and are sought through open advertisements. They are appointed by the Trustees on the advice of the Nominations Committee, which works to ensure an appropriate range of expertise and experience in the Trust.

The Board is chaired by Ronnie Bowie, with Prof Andrea Nolan as Vice-Chair.